Skip to main content

Thinking about dropping out of school

Like the title says, I’m debating dropping out. I waited 1.5 years to get into this program but I’m not sure it’s what I thought it would be. I’m now ~6 months in and have been in clinical for 1 month and really don’t like it. I am an extremely anxious person and it has been hell trying to catch on to all the little protocols and steps plus patient interaction in general. I don’t know what I was thinking, but certainly didn’t think it would be as hands on with patients as it is. We spend a LOT of time transferring and generally being with patients which is why I didn’t go into nursing in the first place. I am also suffering from some severe mental health issues so that’s making school and clinicals more difficult, but also makes me wonder if I can figure those out- maybe I wouldn’t hate this field so much? Right now I just feel miserable. Anybody have any insight? I’m not even sure what to ask myself to really figure out if I should quit or not; but it just really doesn’t seem like a good fit. But I’m just struggling accepting that and being courageous enough to officially drop out. Any advice or guidance is more appreciated than you know!

submitted by /u/brooke512744
[link] [comments]

source https://www.reddit.com/r/Radiology/comments/nio5tb/thinking_about_dropping_out_of_school/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Do rad techs/sonographers deal with vomit often?

Hi there! I’m currently considering going to school to be a rad tech or sonographer but I’m struggling to find out if you guys deal with vomit a lot. I am emetophobic (phobia of vomit) and, while I think I’d like these jobs a lot, it does worry me to think about having to deal with it often. Thank you for your help! submitted by /u/pootscoot1 [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/Radiology/comments/p5y0aa/do_rad_techssonographers_deal_with_vomit_often/

Far progressed rheumatoid arthritis. Secondary finding in CTA in a patient with righthemispherial MCA Syndrome.

submitted by /u/MoronimusVanDeCojck [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/Radiology/comments/kcrm49/far_progressed_rheumatoid_arthritis_secondary/

I got into the Rad Tech program!

I just want to share with you that I finally got into the program at our local community college and i’m starting this summer. For context, I’m already 30yo with a prior BS degree and decided on a career change. During the pandemic until this semester, I took my time to take all the pre-reqs and GEs required while working. I also volunteered at a hospital for over a year. It was optional due to COVID, but I still did it to get the brownie points. I finally applied last March 2023 and received good news last Friday. The program is based on a pointing system, so I think having good grades really mattered. It was my first time applying and the only program I applied to. I didn’t know it was possible to get in on your first try because of all of the stories I’ve been reading, so don’t lose hope because it’s possible! Wishing everyone who’s applying this year good luck. You can do this! If you have questions, I will do my best to answer them 😊 also if you have tips on how to survive this ...