Skip to main content

Going straight in to MRI without becoming a Rad Tech?

Hey, guys, I've seen a question like this asked similarly by someone pursuing a bachelor's in MRI in Canada. In my case I would be pursuing an ARRT-certified Associate's in MRI from Dallas College here in Texas, which would allow someone with no experience in medical care to jump in to the career. My original plan was to do the typical route of becoming an RT, then getting cross-trained/returning to school for other modalities such as CT, Mammo, etc, and eventually my ultimate goal of MRI.

I understand most hospitals want someone with some Rad Tech experience, but I also l know that the physics of Radiologic Technology is unrelated to the physics used in MRI. Do you guys in the U.S know of any MRI techs who were educated only in MRI, no Rad tech experience?

Link to program: https://www.dallascollege.edu/cd/credit/mri/pages/default.aspx#:~:text=Our%20program%20is%20the%20only,with%20a%20perfect%20pass%20rate.

submitted by /u/INFPOnAnIsland
[link] [comments]

source https://www.reddit.com/r/Radiology/comments/nfhxb0/going_straight_in_to_mri_without_becoming_a_rad/

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Do rad techs/sonographers deal with vomit often?

Hi there! I’m currently considering going to school to be a rad tech or sonographer but I’m struggling to find out if you guys deal with vomit a lot. I am emetophobic (phobia of vomit) and, while I think I’d like these jobs a lot, it does worry me to think about having to deal with it often. Thank you for your help! submitted by /u/pootscoot1 [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/Radiology/comments/p5y0aa/do_rad_techssonographers_deal_with_vomit_often/

Far progressed rheumatoid arthritis. Secondary finding in CTA in a patient with righthemispherial MCA Syndrome.

submitted by /u/MoronimusVanDeCojck [link] [comments] source https://www.reddit.com/r/Radiology/comments/kcrm49/far_progressed_rheumatoid_arthritis_secondary/

I got into the Rad Tech program!

I just want to share with you that I finally got into the program at our local community college and i’m starting this summer. For context, I’m already 30yo with a prior BS degree and decided on a career change. During the pandemic until this semester, I took my time to take all the pre-reqs and GEs required while working. I also volunteered at a hospital for over a year. It was optional due to COVID, but I still did it to get the brownie points. I finally applied last March 2023 and received good news last Friday. The program is based on a pointing system, so I think having good grades really mattered. It was my first time applying and the only program I applied to. I didn’t know it was possible to get in on your first try because of all of the stories I’ve been reading, so don’t lose hope because it’s possible! Wishing everyone who’s applying this year good luck. You can do this! If you have questions, I will do my best to answer them 😊 also if you have tips on how to survive this ...